The Ultimate Rankatron!

4 09 2010

In the next few weeks, I will be embarking on completing something that I’ve always wanted to do in my life: watch the top 25 movies of all time and decide if the critics say are correct. This may make me Nick Cage crazy by the end of it (no there’s no Cage pics on this list) but we all need to make sacrifices.

But what are the top 25 movies of all time? Who’s the judge of this? AFI? Time Magazine? The Box Office profits? Rottentomatoes.com? Roger Ebert? Ed the Sock…

Sounds incredibly subjective.

I decided instead of just relying on one list, I took all of them and scored them based on how many times a movie appears on their individual top 25 movies.

I also gave extra points for the #1 on each list. Y’know the Citizen Kanes, the Avatars, the Casablancas. Afterall, it’s an achievement to get to be number one on any list.

A total of 113 movies (yes…there were that many…including “Beavis and Butthead Do America” coming in at #25 on one list) that boiled down to 28 because of ties. I couldn’t legitimately eliminate 3 of them without actually watching them.

From this final 28, I will devise the Ultimate Rankatron of movies. A list to end all lists (until I do another ranking).

Without further ado, here are the top 28 movies in alphabetical order…yes I will watch them all…(click on them for their trailers)

  1. 12 Angry Men (1957)(Review)
  2. 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)
  3. Avatar (2009) (Pre-Review) (Review)
  4. Casablanca (1942)
  5. Chinatown (1974)(Pre-Review) –  (Review)
  6. Citizen Kane (1941)(Pre-Review) (Review)
  7. City Lights (1931) (Review)
  8. Dark Knight, The (2008)
  9. E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial (1982) (Review)
  10. Godfather, The (1972)
  11. Godfather Part 2, The (1974)
  12. Gone With The Wind (1939)
  13. Graduate, The (1967)
  14. Independence Day (1996)(Pre-Review) –  (Review)
  15. It’s a Wonderful Life (1946) (Review)
  16. Lawrence of Arabia (1962)
  17. Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (2003)
  18. On The Waterfront (1954)
  19. Pulp Fiction (1994)
  20. Schindler’s List (1993)
  21. Shawshank Redemption, The (1994)(Pre-Review) –  (Review)
  22. Singing in the Rain (1952)
  23. Star Wars: A New Hope (1977)(Pre-Review) (Review)
  24. Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (1980) (Review)
  25. Raging Bull (1980)
  26. Toy Story 2 (1999) (Review)
  27. Vertigo (1958)
  28. Wizard of Oz, The (1939) (Review)

I won’t reveal who placed where in my scoring system until after my reviews have been completed. But you can probably guess from checking out your own lists which ones might’ve earned the top points.

And I’m as shocked as you with Independence Day making the list…but it’s legit based on the consensus of the lists I used.

I won’t be doing the list in order…basically it comes down to ones I can get access to the easiest first.

I’ll be posting which movies I’ll be watching a few days before hand in case you’d like to partake in a long distance movie reviewing banter of your own. Maybe I’m waaay off! (And I probably am!)

So…just so you all get your Nick Cage fill before we get started (and the fact that he’s not going to appear again in any of these posts)…here’s a little something:

And so begins THE ULTIMATE RANKATRON!!!!

Actions

Information

10 responses

8 12 2012
Day 14: The Short One | The Face Break: A Social Experiment

[…] post was the first of a series where I reviewed the Top 28 movies of all-time called The Ultimate Rankatron to see if I agree. Feel free to surf through all the reviews of the Ultimate Rankatron series but […]

10 12 2010
I’m BAAAAAAAACK!!!! « The RANK-A-TRON

[…] time-to-time, while I complete the Ultimate Rankatron, I will be posted new reviews of newer movies and other stuff I’ve seen or been privy to. […]

5 11 2010
Sock Ult Tron

[…] The Ultimate Rankatron! « The RANK-A-TRON The Many Faces of China…town « The RANK-A-TRON (20:40:36) : [. ] going in (check out the preview on the side bar thingie-ma-jig). It's one of the few on the Ultimate Rankatron list that I've never seen…and quite frankly, […]

27 10 2010
Horror Triple-Header « The RANK-A-TRON

[…] For all trailers, check out the Vod Pod to the right or my Ultimate Rankatron original post. […]

20 10 2010
The Empire Strikes Back vs The Rankatron « The RANK-A-TRON

[…] unfortunate thing about doing this Ultimate Rankatron is that the third movie didn’t make the final list. So I’ll sadly leave the trilogy […]

24 09 2010
Project 880: Creating Avatar « The RANK-A-TRON

[…] check out the movie trailer over at the Ultimate Rankatron (or on the right hand Vodpod […]

17 09 2010
The Many Faces of China…town « The RANK-A-TRON

[…] going in (check out the preview on the side bar thingie-ma-jig). It’s one of the few on the Ultimate Rankatron list that I’ve never seen…and quite frankly, have never heard of before creating the list. […]

14 09 2010
It’s Citizen Kane! It’s Citizen Kane! It’s Citizen Kane! « The RANK-A-TRON

[…] those who just want the trailer, check out the Ultimate Rankatron post or click on the left bar over there somewhere for the Vodvid. Food for […]

5 09 2010
The Shawshank Redemption, yo! « The RANK-A-TRON

[…] you want to see the actual trailer, visit my original Ultimate Rankatron post and click on the movie […]

5 09 2010
World Wide News Flash

The Ultimate Rankatron!…

I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

