That Naked Gold Statue

27 01 2010

Oscar nominations come out on February 2, 2010.

As with every year, I subject myself to watching every movie nominated for Best Picture. This usually means a manageable five movies between the nomination date and when the show airs on March 7th. I rank these pictures in order of awesomeness and pure kick-ass-itude.

This year? They double my movie load to TEN!

But I LOVE the silver screen. So I will watch them. With luck I’ve knocked off a bunch of them already.

Here’s a shortlist of who I expect to show up when everything is announced next Tuesday:

  • Avatar – I think this may be TOO successful to win…if y’know what I mean.
  • Up – A crazy old guy in a house pulled by balloons=Pixar gold
  • Up in the Air – Haven’t caught it yet…but Clooney could conceivably act his way out of a paper bag.
  • Precious – Another one I haven’t seen…but the buzz will make me check it out.
  • The Hurt Locker – War…huh…what is it good for?…Absolutely movies! Say it again now! (Gut is leaning towards this to win but I’ll get back to you)
  • Inglorious Bastards – Tarantino does senseless violence like no other. And who really doesn’t like Nazis as villains?
  • The Hangover – Funniest movie in the past five years…maybe the decade.
  • District 9 – Surprisingly refreshing…like Mountain Dew except with more poverty.
  • Nine – that musical not the Tim Burton animation film “9”…what’s with all the nine’s last year?
  • An Education – I know literally zip about this movie. Chalk it up to poor education.
  • Crazy Heart – This year’s “The Wrestler” but instead of a broken down wrestler, it’s about a broken down country singer. People eat this up. I haven’t yet.
  • Star Trek – Yes…it’s THAT good.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

